Everything I know… (2017)

<In my misspent youth, I watched a lot of TV. This is the result of my formative years spent glued to the idiot box. I wrote a first version of this some years ago. Might have posted this to FB. This is the 2017 update. (I first started drafting this in Oct 2017.) This may be for the oldies (my generation) or those who know old TV series. The older ones are in purple. Most are older series because I watched them in my formative years. There are fewer new shows because, like many old foggies, I don’t think new shows are worth a damn. Also I don’t have a TV since about 2000. Newer series were watched on DVDs bought via Amazon. And I am picky about what series to follow.>

It occurred to me that…

Everything I know about Contract Law, I learned from “Paper Chase”.

Everything I know Diagnostic Medicine, I learned from “House, MD”.

Everything I know about Forensic Anthrolopogy, I learned from “Bones”.

Everything I know about being a Serial Killer, I learned from “Dexter”.

Everything I know about being a Jewish Doctor in Alaska working off my state scholarship bond, I learned from “Northern Exposure”.

– Wait! I have NEVER been a Jewish doctor in Alaska working off my state scholarship! (But if I ever became one, I’d know what to do.)

Everything I know about being a Dad, I learned from “Married… with Children”

Everything I know about the Civil Service, I learned from “Yes, Minister”, and “Yes, Prime Minister”.

Everything I know about being a little green frog working with crazy, insecure, incompetent, eccentric colleagues, I learned from the “Muppet Show”.

Everything I know about being an honourable man, I learned from “Spenser For Hire”.

Everything I know about carrying on after being on the losing side of a war (though I’m not convinced it was the wrong side), I learned from Capt Malcolm Reynolds, “Firefly”.

Everything I know about sarcasm, I learned from “Benson”.

Everything I know about keeping a beard, and living with a bear, in the wilds, I learned from “Grizzly Adams”. And while I may never live with a bear, I have gotten married, and that (according to some people) is pretty close. (Have you met my wife?)

Everything I know about US College basketball, I learned from “The White Shadow”.

Everything I know about working with short people, I learned from Mr Rourke, “Fantasy Island”. And while some of the people I work with are a little short, you should see my wife.

Everything about my sartorial sense, I learned from “Columbo”. Which is not saying much.

Everything I know about Paranoia, Conspiracy Theories, and Aliens, I learned from “The X-files”.

Everything I know about slaying vampires, I learned from “Buffy, The Vampire Slayer”.

Everything I know about being a vampire, I learned from “Angel”.

Everything I know about being a Private Investigator, I learned from “Magnum P.I.”

Everything I know about working in a Nuclear Power Plant, I learned from Homer Simpson (“The Simpsons”).

Everything I know about flying or running a spaceship, I learn from “Star Trek:The Next Generation”

Everything I know about single desperate women, I learned from “Ally McBeal”.

Everything I know about teamwork, I learned from “The Mighty Morphin’ Power Rangers”.

Everything I know about being cool, I learned from The Fonz on “Happy Days”.

Everything I know about being cool while being bald (or balding), I learned from Capt Picard (ST:TNG) and Capt Stubbing (The Love Boat). And I also wonder why I’m not yet Captain. I have the follicular-challenged prerequisite. (Maybe I’m supposed to be a “Bus Captain”?)

Everything I know about forgiveness, moving on with one’s life, I learn from Charlie Crews on “Life” (2007).

Everything I know about how we might all be connected to each other, and why we should do our little bit to help each other, I learned from “Wonderfalls”.

Everything I know about resilience, persistence, faith in people I learned from “Veronica Mars”.

Everything I know about the American South, I learned from “Justified”.

BUT… I did not learn ANYTHING  of value from Game of Thrones. I watched it only for the sex and nudity. And violence. Definitely the violence. And man’s inhumanity to man. And women. 🙂

This entry was posted in Life Lessons, Not Serious, Observations, Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.