Z at 18 months

Today (June 18, 2016), I looked at Z and saw her smile at me with what seemed like the full set of milk teeth.

She had just had her 18 month check-up and shots (June 17, 2016). She’s 10 kg and about 80 cm putting her well at the 50th percentile. She did have a big head though (70th percentile). Probably swollen from all the gushing praises from grandma, grandpa, and great grandma.

Great grandma had stopped calling her “chao nang” (smelly person), and started called her “pao pei” (“precious”). I wondered what happened to the superstition about not praising or saying nice things about the baby? Did that expire at some point (say 12th month) or did lao ma just lose it? 🙂

Anyway, as we rode the bus home after a longish day, Z was in PL’s carrier (we were expecting her to sleep soon), and she was jabbering away happily, and swaying left and right, just for the hell of it. And then she swayed towards me, and rested her head on my arm, and looked at me, blissfully. And I was glad I was her father, and she was my child and PL was the mother to this happy child, and wife to this lucky man.

And I am blessed, indeed.

This entry was posted in Baby talk, Child, Gratitude, Musing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Z at 18 months

  1. Pingback: Father’s Day 2016 | My Dad

Leave a Reply

