Garlic Pork Ribs with Harissa Sauce

I realise that I have no instinct for photography.

Or maybe I’m not a solipsist and don’t think a picture of my food is of interest to anyone except me and my stomach.

So, no pictures of this.

Maybe next time.

And this post is a Mind Kitchen, because while the first try was promising, I think I can do better next time.

What I did was to season a rack of ribs – salt, sugar, pepper (black & white), then wrap in foil (twice) and slow roast for about 4 hours at 120C  (or about 250F).

I knew it was done when the aroma of pork filled the kitchen.

Leave it to cool, then refrigerate in the foil overnight (cos I didn’t have time to work on it immediately – I just slow-roasted it for 4 hours!)

I was thinking of stir-frying it with more than a litle oil, soy sauce, garlic, and onions (which I did, and it was good, but, presentation wise, it was not so… presentable. Maybe that’s why I didn’t take any pictures).

Instead, cut the rack into individual ribs, and brown the ribs in oil (or butter/ghee if you like).

Remove the ribs to serving platter when browned to your preference, then deglaze the browning pan with diced onions. Add minced garlic at the end (to avoid burning or over-cooking the garlic), and coarsely ground pepper.

If this looks good enough, spoon over the ribs, with Harissa chilli Sauce (or your preferred chilli sauce).

I used Harissa Chilli Sauce – A Moroccan chilli sauce with cumin – because I heard of it (from Chef John on YouTube), and I finally found it at the supermarket. If you can’t find it, don’t worry about it.

I put Harissa sauce on the side the first time because I did not know if I would like it – too spicy, too weird, too salty. But it turned out to be great.

So an alternative is to pour Harissa sauce over the onions and garlic, then glaze the pork ribs with the mix.

If you want a creamier sauce, add milk, cream, or coconut milk to the final mix on low heat to gently warm the creamy mixture up.

Pictures when I get it right.

This entry was posted in Food, Mind Kitchen. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

