Fortune favours the prepared.

I returned to Meidi-ya this evening to buy fresh wasabi.

Last week while browsing in the supermarket, I found fresh wasabi. The plant. In the chilled food section.

It was about 3 inches long with some leaves. A Rhizome. I think it was about $12. I wasn’t sure what I would do with it, so I left it on the shelf.

I knew it was rare, but I didn’t know what to do with it.

So I left it. I went back to research how or what to do with a fresh wasabi in plant form.

Actually, you just grate it.

So I returned to Meidi-ya a week later. But it was gone.

Sadness.

Fortune favours the prepared.

I could have just bought it first and figured it out later. BUT… I would have deprived some other cook, someone who truly appreciated fresh wasabi from having it. And if it turned out I did not know what to do with it, it would have been a waste.

But now I know. Now I’m prepared.

Fortune, favour me now!

This entry was posted in Food, Musing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

